Human Rights Council Thirty-fifth session

6–23 June 2017

Agenda item 3

Resolution adopted by the Human Rights Council on 22 June 2017

35/21. The contribution of development to the enjoyment of all human


The Human Rights Council,

Guided by the purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations,

Recalling the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and all other relevant human

rights instruments,

Recalling also the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action, the 2005 World

Summit Outcome, the Declaration on the Right to Development and the 2030 Agenda for

Sustainable Development,1

Recalling further Human Rights Council resolution 33/14 of 29 September 2016, in

which the Council appointed the Special Rapporteur on the right to development, and his

mandate described therein,

Reaffirming that all human rights are universal, indivisible, interdependent and

interrelated and that the international community must treat human rights globally in a fair

and equal manner, on the same footing and with the same emphasis,

Recognizing that development and the realization of human rights and fundamental

freedoms are interdependent and mutually reinforcing,

Welcoming the adoption of the 2030 Agenda, including the pledge therein to leave

no one behind, and reaffirming that the realization of sustainable development in all its

three dimensions contributes to the promotion and protection of human rights for all,

Reaffirming that the 2030 Agenda is an agenda of unprecedented scope and

significance, accepted by all countries and applicable to all, and that the Sustainable

Development Goals and targets are integrated and indivisible, global in nature and

universally applicable, take into account different national realities, capacities and levels of

1 General Assembly resolution 70/1.

development and respect national policies and priorities, while remaining consistent with

relevant international rules and commitments,

Reaffirming also that the existence of extreme poverty inhibits the full and effective

enjoyment of human rights and that its immediate alleviation and eventual eradication must

remain a high priority for the international community, and that the efforts towards the

achievement of this goal should be strengthened,

Reiterating that States should cooperate with each other in ensuring sustainable and

inclusive development and eliminating obstacles to development, and that the international

community should promote effective international cooperation in this regard,

Recognizing the common aspiration to build a community of shared future for

human beings,

1. Affirms that development contributes significantly to the enjoyment of all

human rights by all;

2. Calls upon all countries to realize people-centred development of the people,

by the people and for the people;

3. Calls upon all States to spare no effort to promote sustainable development,

in particular while implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, as it is

conducive to the overall enjoyment of human rights;

4. Welcomes further efforts to promote development initiatives with the aim of

promoting partnerships, win-win outcomes and common development;

5. Invites all relevant bodies of the United Nations system to mobilize resources

to assist States, as requested, in realizing sustainable and inclusive development;

6. Requests the Advisory Committee to conduct a study on the ways in which

development contributes to the enjoyment of all human rights by all, in particular on best

experiences and practices, and to submit the report to the Human Rights Council before its

forty-first session;

7. Decides to remain seized of the matter.

36th meeting

22 June 2017

[Adopted by a recorded vote of 30 to 13, with 3 abstentions.* The voting was as follows:

In favour:

Bangladesh, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Brazil, Burundi,

China, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia,

Ghana, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan Mongolia, Nigeria,

Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia,

United Arab Emirates, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)


The delegation of Paraguay did not cast a vote.


Albania, Belgium, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Latvia, Netherlands,

Portugal, Slovenia, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland, United States of America


Georgia, Panama, Republic of Korea]