

Human Rights Council

Tenth Session

Resolution 10/21. Follow-up to Council resolution S-9/1 on the grave violations of human rights in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, particularly due to the recent Israeli military attacks against the occupied Gaza Strip

The Human Rights Council,

Recalling its resolution S-9/1 of 12 January 2009,

Recalling also its decision to dispatch an urgent, independent international fact-finding mission, to be appointed by the President of the Council, to investigate all violations of international human rights law and international humanitarian law by the occupying Power, Israel, against the Palestinian people throughout the Occupied Palestinian Territory, particularly in the occupied Gaza Strip, due to the latest aggression, and that it called upon Israel not to obstruct the process of investigation and to fully cooperate with the mission,

Expressing with regret that resolution S-9/1 has not been fully implemented to date,

1. *Requests* the President of the Council to continue his tireless efforts to appoint the independent international fact-finding mission;

2. *Calls upon* the occupying Power, Israel, to abide by its obligations under international law, international humanitarian law and international human rights law;

3. *Demands* that the occupying Power, Israel, fully cooperate with all relevant special procedures mandate holders in the discharge of their mandates;

4. *Also demands* that the occupying Power, Israel, facilitate and provide unhindered access to the members of the independent international fact-finding mission;

5. *Decides* to remain seized of the matter.

43rd meeting 26 March 2009

[Adopted by a recorded vote of 33 to 1, with 13 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour: Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Chile, China, Cuba, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Uruguay, Zambia;

Against: Canada;

Abstaining: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cameroon, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.]